Help! I’m pitching my novel.

Posted on Updated on

gorilla

In a moment of madness a few months ago, I booked myself onto a pitching event ‘How to Hook an Agent’ through the Writers&Artists website.

It looks really interesting and the idea is that you learn what makes an effective submission, thereby hopefully reducing your chances of ending up on the slush pile.  The most important/nerve-wracking part of the day is getting 10 mins one to one with an agent with the opportunity to pitch your novel.

I’ve never done ANYTHING like this before.

Anyone got any tips or suggestions on how to prepare for it?

2 thoughts on “Help! I’m pitching my novel.

    Gaming Backlog said:
    October 10, 2015 at 4:12 am

    I once watched a news segment that featured a woman who won a lot of competitions by finding ways to make her submissions stand out. She would deliver them in bright, decorative envelopes, making them harder to ignore. You might be able to apply the same technique by wearing flashy clothing that still looks professional. If you look like everyone else, then you don’t stand out, obviously… But getting noticed is what you want, so make sure you are easy to see (up-front proximity AND personal appearance).

    Personally, I’ve never done anything like this either. Have you ever considered skipping the agent and publishing the book yourself?

    Like

      wickedpixiegirl responded:
      October 10, 2015 at 8:29 am

      I have. But I don’t have the time /know how when it comes to the whole marketing thing. I’m going to try the traditional route but if it doesn’t work out then I will self publish as a second option.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

